Free to Air 3D Television Trials

The Australian Communication and Media Authority (ACMA) has issued scientific test transmission licences to Nine Network and SBS to trial 3D television in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Newcastle and Wollongong. 

ACMA is able to temporarily allocate available unassigned broadcast service band (BSB) spectrum under section 34 of the Broadcast Services Act 1992. One of the purposes for which such spectrum can be allocated is conducting trials of new radiocommunication technologies. 

The licences allow Nine and SBS to broadcast 3D high definition television between 19 May 2010 and 19 July 2010 to viewers with access to 3D-enabled digital television receivers. 

The trial will include live telecasts of the three NRL State of Origin rugby league match and a number of FIFA World Cup games being played in South Africa. 

The 3D service of Nine and SBS will be broadcast on UHF channels in Sydney (Ch35), Melbourne (Ch35), Brisbane (Ch50), Adelaide (Ch29), Perth (Ch35), Newcastle (Ch35) and Wollongong (Ch50), and will be on DTV logical channel number 40.